Experts List

Experts for: Art & Design

Michael Ananian

Associate Professor, Art
MFA Yale University
(336) 334-5170, mananian@triad.rr.com

  • Painting & Drawing
  • Visual Narrative
  • Portraiture

Stoel Burrowes

Assistant Professor, Interior Architecture
Coleman Fellow, North Carolina Entrepreneurship Center
MA North Carolina State University
(336) 256-0305, s_burrow@uncg.edu

  • Design Education and Theory
  • Furniture Design
  • Chair Construction
  • Drafting and Drawing

Anthony S. Chow

Assistant Professor, Library & Information Studies
PhD Florida State University
(336) 334-3411, aschow@uncg.edu

  • Library Management and Technology
  • Web Design & Usability
  • E-Learning
  • Instructional Technology
  • Asian American & Race Issues

Duane Cyrus

Associate Professor, Dance
MFA University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
(336) 256-1486, dacyrus@uncg.edu

  • Entrepreneurship in the Arts
  • Performing Arts
  • Dance
  • Arts Education

Nancy Doll

Director, Weatherspoon Art Museum
MA The University of Iowa
(336) 334-5770, nmdoll@uncg.edu

  • Collections & Programs of the Weatherspoon Art Museum
  • Censorship in the Arts
  • The Current State of Museums - Challenges, funding
  • Creativity

Joseph Erba

Lecturer/Professor of Practice, Management
MBA Babson College
(336) 256-8592, jrerba@uncg.edu

  • Corporate Entrepreneurship
  • Business Policy & Strategy
  • Arts & Business
  • Organizational Leadership

Travis L. Hicks

Assistant Professor, Interior Architecture
M.Arch. Princeton University
(336) 256-0306, tlhicks@uncg.edu

  • Trends in the Workplace: The Affect of Social Networks on the American Office
  • Community Engagement: How Architects and Designers Impact Their Communities Through Design
  • Sustainable Design: Architects and Designers Moving Beyond the Status-Quo
  • Integrated Design Process: How Buildings Become More Cost-Effective Through Collaborative Design

Nancy Hodges

Professor, Consumer, Apparel & Retail Studies
PhD University of Minnesota
(336) 256-0291, nancy_hodges@uncg.edu

  • Employment in the N.C. Textile and Apparel Industries
  • Dress in history and society
  • Cross cultural issues in dress

Derek Krueger

Joe Rosenthal Excellence Professor, Religious Studies
Program Faculty, Women's and Gender Studies
PhD Princeton University
(336) 334-5762, KruegerD@uncg.edu

  • Early and Medieval Christian History
  • Religion and the Arts
  • Christianity and Gender

Po-Wen Liu

Lecturer, Art
MFA Northern Illinois University
(336) 334-5248, p_liu@uncg.edu

  • Traditional and Contemporary Ceramics
  • Traditional Asian Ceramics (Chinese, Korean, and Japanese)
  • Glaze Chemistry

Ignacio Lopez

Assistant Professor, Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
PhD Universidad Complutense, Madrid, Spain
(336) 334-3853, i_lopez@uncg.edu

  • Spanish Medieval Art and Literature
  • Spanish Early Modern Art and Literature

Anna Marshall-Baker

Professor & Department Chair, Interior Architecture
PhD Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
(336) 334-5320, anna_marshallbaker@uncg.edu

  • Interior Design & Interior Architecture
  • Neonatal Intensive Care
  • Green Design
  • Cradle to Cradle Design
  • Sustainability in Higher Education

Hannah Rose Mendoza

Assistant Professor, Interior Architecture
MFA Florida State University
(336) 256-0306, hrmendoz@uncg.edu

  • Design and Social Justice
  • The Global Studio Project
  • Women and Design
  • Minorities and Design

Elizabeth Perrill

Assistant Professor, Art
PhD Indiana University Bloomington
(336) 334-5248, eaperril@uncg.edu

  • African Art

Tina Sarawgi

Associate Professor & Director of Graduate Study, Interior Architecture
M.Arch. Miami University
(336) 303-8462, tina_sarawgi@uncg.edu

  • Lighting Design
  • Digital Design
  • Lighting Simulation

Carmen Sotomayor

Professor, Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
PhD Michigan State University
(336) 334-5655, ctsotoma@uncg.edu

  • Spain: Twentieth Century and Contemporary Issues
  • Spanish Civil War (1936-39) Visual Arts, Literature and History

Barbara Campbell Thomas

Associate Professor, Art
MFA University of California, Berkeley
(336) 334-5761, Becampbe@uncg.edu

  • Contemporay Art
  • Art Education