Experts List

Experts for: Broadcasting & Cinema

Geoffrey Baym

Associate Professor, Media Studies
PhD University of Utah
gdbaym@uncg.edu

  • Television News
  • Satire and "Fake News" (eg The Daily Show and The Colbert Report)
  • Politics and Entertainment

Frank Donaldson

Lecturer, Media Studies
MA The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
(336) 334-4146, frank_donaldson@uncg.edu

  • Entertainment Industry Trends
  • Local Radio & Television

Emily Edwards

Professor, Media Studies
Director, Center for Creative Writing in the Arts
PhD The University of Texas at Austin
(336) 334-5360, ededward@uncg.edu

  • Popular Media, Media Writing & Production
  • Media violence, morbid curiosity and pop culture
  • Creative Writing

James Fisher

Professor & Department Head, Theatre
MFA The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
(336) 334-4112, ajfisher@uncg.edu

  • Topics Relating to Theater & Drama
  • American Film
  • The UNCG Theatre Program
  • Theatre Censorship

Anthony N. Fragola

Professor, Media Studies
Atlantic World Research Network
MFA University of Southern California
(336) 334-5360, afragola@uncg.edu

  • Italian Cinema and Literature
  • Movies in General
  • Mafia - Politics, Economics, Relationship to Sicilian and Italian Mafias

Michael Frierson

Associate Professor, Media Studies
PhD University of Michigan
(336) 334-5360, frierson@uncg.edu

  • History of Animation

Ana Hontanilla

Associate Professor, Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
PhD Washington University in St. Louis
(336) 334-3335, amhontan@uncg.edu

  • Spanish Literature
  • Spanish Culture
  • Spanish Films, History, and Politics
  • HIstory of slavery in Latin America

Brett Ingram

Associate Professor, Media Studies
MFA The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
(336) 334-5360, bringram@uncg.edu

  • Documentary Filmmaking
  • Filmmaking in General

Arndt Niebisch

Assistant Professor, Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
PhD Johns Hopkins University
(336) 334-3853, a_niebis@uncg.edu

  • Science, Technology and Culture
  • Media Theory
  • European Avant-Garde

Kimberlianne Podlas

Assistant Professor, Media Studies
JD State University of New York at Buffalo, School of Law
(336) 334-5360, k_podlas@uncg.edu

  • Topics in U.S. Law: Copyright, FCC, Courts
  • The Law in Pop Culture and on TV: the CSI Effect, Judge Judy, Reality TV
  • Humor and Satire
  • The Media: TV, Film, Digital/Internet

Susanne Rinner

Associate Professor, Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
PhD Georgetown University
(336) 334-4857, s_rinner@uncg.edu

  • German Literature, Film, & Cultural Studies
  • The Sixties
  • Women Writers in German Speaking Countries
  • Contemporary Germany

Joan M. Titus

Assistant Professor, Composition, Ethnomusicology, Musicology and Theory
PhD The Ohio State University
(336) 334-3301, j_titus@uncg.edu

  • Music and Film
  • Music and World Politics
  • Music and Cultural Policy
  • Music and Russia; and Music and North Africa