Experts List

Experts for: Music, Theatre, & Dance

Mary Ashley Barret

Professor, Music Performance
DMA Florida State University
(336) 334-5879, mabarret@uncg.edu

  • Music
  • Orchestral performing
  • Chamber music
  • Oboe

Robert Bracey

Professor, Music Performance
DMA University of Michigan
(336) 256-0107, r_bracey@uncg.edu

  • Vocal Music Classical/Art Song/Oratorio
  • Professional Singing Career

Rachel Briley

Associate Professor, Theatre
MFA Arizona State University
(336) 334-4015, r_briley@uncg.edu

  • Drama and Literacy
  • Drama and the Young Child
  • Theatre for Young Audiences
  • Music, Sign Language, and Drama in the development of the child

Michael Burns

Professor, Music Performance
DMA University of Cincinnati
(336) 334-5970, mjburns@uncg.edu

  • Bassoon & Contrabassoon
  • Woodwind Chamber Music

James Revell Carr

Assistant Professor, Music Studies
PhD University of California, Santa Barbara
(336) 334-5030, jrcarr2@uncg.edu

  • American Folk & Pop Music
  • Music & Protest Movements
  • Music & the Media
  • Music in the Aftermath of Disasters

Gregory D. Carroll

Associate Professor, Music Studies
PhD The University of Iowa
(336) 334-5461, gdcarrol@uncg.edu

  • Classical Music

Duane Cyrus

Associate Professor, Dance
MFA University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
(336) 256-1486, dacyrus@uncg.edu

  • Entrepreneurship in the Arts
  • Performing Arts
  • Dance
  • Arts Education

Gavin Douglas

Associate Professor, Music Studies
PhD University of Washington
(336) 334-5473, gdouglas@uncg.edu

  • Burma/Myanmar
  • Southeast Asian Music

Michelle M. Dowd

Associate Professor, English
Women's and Gender Studies
PhD Columbia University
(336) 334-5384, mmdowd@uncg.edu

  • Early British Women Writers
  • Shakespeare
  • English Renaissance Theater

Mark Engebretson

Associate Professor, Composition, Ethnomusicology, Musicology and Theory
DM Northwestern University
(336) 256-1478, engebretson@uncg.edu

  • Contemporary Music, New Music
  • Electronic Music and/or Electroacoustic Musi
  • Aesthetics in music
  • Orchestral, Chamber, Classical Music

Alexander Ezerman

Associate Professor, Music Performance
DMA State University of New York at Stony Brook
(336) 334-5518, abezerma@uncg.edu

  • Classical Music
  • Music Performance
  • Cello, Cellists

Benjamin Filene

Associate Professor, History
PhD Yale University
(336) 334-5645, bpfilene@uncg.edu

  • Folk/Blues/"Roots" Musics
  • Museums, Public History, History and Memory

James Fisher

Professor & Department Head, Theatre
MFA The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
(336) 334-4112, ajfisher@uncg.edu

  • Topics Relating to Theater & Drama
  • American Film
  • The UNCG Theatre Program
  • Theatre Censorship

Denise Gabriel

Assistant Professor, Theatre
MA The Ohio State University, University of Nebraska
(336) 334-5789, dlgabri2@uncg.edu

  • The Values of Mindfulness Practice in Daily Living
  • Embodying Performance in the Workplace

Kevin M. Geraldi

Associate Professor, Conducting
DMA University of Michigan
(336) 334-5435, kmgerald@uncg.edu

  • Classical music
  • Band, Orchestral, and Chamber Music
  • Music Education

Patricia Gray

Director, BioMusic Program
DMA University of Cincinnati
(336) 454-8817, p_gray@uncg.edu

  • Musical Structures in the Wild
  • Musical Abilities of Other Species
  • Theory of Mind and Music Research
  • Innovation in Education: Interdisciplinary Biomusic
  • How Music Supports Bonding and Collaboration

Jill Green

Professor, Dance
PhD The Ohio State University
(336) 334-3266, jillgreen@uncg.edu

  • Somatic Theory & Practice
  • Health & Dance
  • Body-Mind Approaches
  • Kinetic Awareness

Christopher Haas

Lecturer & Technical Director, Theatre
MFA Southern Illinois University Carbondale
(336) 334-3891, cehaas@uncg.edu

  • Scenery Construction
  • Stage/Theatrical Rigging
  • Woodshop Safety

Steve Haines

Associate Professor, Music Performance
Director, Miles Davis Program in Jazz Studies
MM University of North Texas
(336) 256-0105, sjhaines@uncg.edu

  • Jazz Music

Robert Hansen

Professor, Theatre
PhD University of Minnesota
(336) 334-3186, rchansen@uncg.edu

  • Theatre & Theatre History
  • Programs in the College of Arts & Sciences

David Holley

Professor, Music Performance
Director, UNCG Opera Theatre
MM The University of Texas at Austin
(336) 334-5126, d_holley@uncg.edu

  • Opera and Musical Theatre

Jody Kaizen

Lecturer, Theatre
MA Saint Mary's Unviersity of Minnesota
(336) 334-4601, jtcauthe@Uncg.edu

  • Theatre Arts
  • Theatre Education
  • Ticket Sales
  • Donations/Funding of Projects

Elizabeth Keathley

Associate Professor, Music Studies
Associate Professor, Women's and Gender Studies
PhD Stony Brook University
(336) 334-5911, elkeathl@uncg.edu

  • Women/Gender/Sexuality and Music
  • Music History, Especially Modern (20th Century)
  • Mexican/Mexican-American Popular Music
  • Women/Gender and Education, Especially Higher Education

Andre Lash

Lecturer, Music Performance
DMA Eastman School of Music of the University of Rochester
(706) 224-7789, adlash@uncg.edu

  • History of the Organ and It's Usage

Larry Lavender

Professor, Dance
Faculty Fellow, Lloyd International Honors College
PhD New York University
(336) 855-1962, lavender@uncg.edu

  • Local Dance Events

Janet Lilly

Professor & Department Chair, Dance
MFA The University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
(336) 334-3262, j_lilly@uncg.edu

  • Elements of Dance Choreography for Everyone
  • Site-Specific Choreography and Improvisation
  • Iyengar Yoga as a Body/Mind Practice

Rebecca MacLeod

Associate Professor, Music Education
PhD Florida State University
(850) 256-0167, rbmacleo@uncg.edu

  • Teaching at-risk and underserved populations
  • Orchestra programs in the public schools

Constance L. McKoy

Associate Professor, Music Education
Coordinator for Music Student Teaching, Music Education
PhD The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
(336) 334-5478, clmckoy@uncg.edu

  • The Value of Music & the Arts in Education
  • Culturally Responsive Teaching in Music or in the Arts
  • Students' Access to Arts Education in Schools

David Nelson

Professor, Music Studies
PhD Northwestern University
(336) 256-1229, david_nelson@uncg.edu

  • Music of Vienna
  • Mozart
  • Musical Ensembles and Institutions of Vienna

William M. Nelson

Professional Librarian & Cello Music Cataloger, University Libraries
MA University of York, England
(336) 334-5781, wmnelson@uncg.edu

  • Special Music Collections As Cultural Resources
  • The Largest Collection of Cello Music in the World: Why UNCG?
  • Cello & Classical Guitar

Susan Phillips

Assistant Professor, Communication Sciences & Disorders
PhD University of Maryland
(336) 256-2000, slphilli@uncg.edu

  • Prevention of Hearing Loss in Musicians
  • Genetics of Hearing Loss
  • Mentoring

Kimberlianne Podlas

Assistant Professor, Media Studies
JD State University of New York at Buffalo, School of Law
(336) 334-5360, k_podlas@uncg.edu

  • Topics in U.S. Law: Copyright, FCC, Courts
  • The Law in Pop Culture and on TV: the CSI Effect, Judge Judy, Reality TV
  • Humor and Satire
  • The Media: TV, Film, Digital/Internet

Kailan Ruth Rubinoff

Associate Professor, Music Studies
PhD University of Alberta
(336) 334-9859, krrubino@uncg.edu

  • Baroque Music
  • Music of the Netherlands
  • 20th-century music
  • Historical performance

Alejandro Rutty

Associate Professor, Music Performance
PhD State University of New York at Buffalo
(336) 334-5421, ahrutty@uncg.edu

  • Music Composition

John Salmon

Professor, Music Performance
DMA The University of Texas at Austin
(336) 334-5431, jcsalmon@uncg.edu

  • Dave Brubeck

Paul Stewart

Professor, Music Performance
DMA Florida State University
(336) 334-5380, pbstewar@uncg.edu

  • Past President of the Music Teachers National Association
  • Topics Related to Piano Teaching

Joan M. Titus

Assistant Professor, Music Studies
PhD The Ohio State University
(336) 334-3301, j_titus@uncg.edu

  • Music and Media
  • Music and World Politics
  • Music and Cultural Policy
  • Music and Russia; and Music and North Africa

Jan Van Dyke

Professor Emeritus, Dance
EdD The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
(336) 370-4819, jevandyk@uncg.edu

  • Dance
  • Dance Training

Nancy Walker

Professor, Music Performance
DMA Indiana University
(336) 334-5784, nlwalker@uncg.edu

  • Singing, Teaching Voice/Music

Robert Wells

Associate Professor, Music Performance
Coordinator, Vocal Pedagogy, Music Performance
DMA University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music
(336) 256-1326, robert_wells@uncg.edu

  • Voice - Classical Voice Training/Bel Canto Tradition
  • Vocal Health and Pedagogy
  • Solo Voice in the Choral Environment
  • Vocal Health and Technique for the Choral Singer

Christopher W White

Lecturer, Music Studies
PhD Yale University
(336) 334-5468, chriswmwhite@gmail.com

  • Overlaps between music and language
  • Music cognition
  • Artificial Musical Intelligence

Andrew Willis

Professor, Music Performance
DMA Cornell University
(336) 334-5508, aswillis@uncg.edu

  • Performance Practice in Classical and Romantic Piano Music
  • History of the Piano
  • Piano Literature

James Wren

Associate Professor, Theatre
MFA University of Florida
(336) 334-5562, jimwren@uncg.edu

  • Performance Studies
  • Community and Culture
  • Film, Television, and Theatre