Experts List

Experts for: Technology & the Internet

Kwasi Amoako-Gyampah

Professor, Information Systems & Supply Chain Management
PhD University of Cincinnati
(336) 334-5739, kwasi_amoako@uncg.edu

  • Outsourcing and offshoring of information technology and manufacturing jobs
  • Preparing students for information technology and manufacturing jobs in the future- what types of skills will be needed
  • Manufacturing and information technology job trends in the Triad
  • Why do so many projects run over budgets and fall behind schedule?

Ian D. Beatty

Assistant Professor, Physics & Astronomy
PhD University of Massachusetts Amherst
(336) 256-8600, idbeatty@uncg.edu

  • The Use of Electronic "Classroom Response Systems" (a.k.a. "clickers") in K-12 and University Classrooms
  • General Issues of Science Education
  • The role of a bricks-and-mortar university in the age of Wikipedia and online education

Nora J. Bird

Assistant Professor, Library & Information Studies
PhD Rutgers University
(336) 256-0162, njbird@uncg.edu

  • Libraries
  • Digital Libraries

Rick Bunch

Professor, Geography
Director, Center for Geographic Information Science
PhD University of South Carolina
(336) 608-8253, rlbunch@uncg.edu

  • Geographic Information Systems
  • Geography

Jean Camp

Professor Emeritus, Teacher Education & Higher Education
MEd The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
(336) 334-3402, jean_camp@uncg.edu

  • Instructional Technology

Anthony S. Chow

Assistant Professor, Library & Information Studies
PhD Florida State University
(336) 334-3411, aschow@uncg.edu

  • Library Management and Technology
  • Web Design & Usability
  • E-Learning
  • Instructional Technology
  • Asian American & Race Issues

Steve Danford

Associate Professor, Physics & Astronomy
Director, Three College Observatory
PhD Yale University
(336) 334-3308, danford@uncg.edu

  • The U. S. Space Program
  • Observing the Sky --- Planets, Stars, Comets, Galaxies
  • Telescopes

Ann W. Davis

Clinical Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership & Cultural Foundations
EdD The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
(336) 334-3469, awdavis@triad.rr.com

  • School Executive Leadership for Higher Student Engagement and Performance
  • Leading in a Culture of Change - Turning Around Low-Performing High Schools
  • Mentoring Beginning Principals
  • 1:1 Computing in Today's School Environment

Holly A. Downs

Assistant Professor, Educational Research Methodology
Ph.D. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
(336) 334-5882, hadowns@uncg.edu

  • Evaluation
  • Technology/Digital Tools
  • Qualitative and Mixed Methodologies
  • Research/Evaluation Design

Eric Ford

Professor, Management
PhD The University of Alabama at Birmingham
(336) 334-4524, ewford@uncg.edu

  • Electronic Health Records: Adoption & Diffusion
  • Health Policy
  • Hospitals & Insurance
  • Healthcare Quality
  • Online Education

Julia Hergersberger

Associate Professor, Library & Information Studies
PhD Indiana University
(336) 334-3482, jahersbe@uncg.edu

  • Homelessness
  • Social Networks

Daniel J. C. Herr

Professor & Department Chair, Nanoscience
Director, The JSNN-Gateway Nanomanufacturing Innovation Consortium
PhD University of California, Santa Cruz
(336) 285-2862, djherr@uncg.edu

  • Nanoscience, Nanotechnology, and Nanomaterials
  • Sustainable Manufacturing and Nanomanufacturing
  • Advanced Semiconductor Technologies
  • The Joint School of Nanoscience and Nanoengineering

Travis L. Hicks

Assistant Professor, Interior Architecture
M.Arch. Princeton University
(336) 256-0306, tlhicks@uncg.edu

  • Trends in the Workplace: The Affect of Social Networks on the American Office
  • Community Engagement: How Architects and Designers Impact Their Communities Through Design
  • Sustainable Design: Architects and Designers Moving Beyond the Status-Quo
  • Integrated Design Process: How Buildings Become More Cost-Effective Through Collaborative Design

Lakshmi Iyer

Assistant Professor, Information Systems and Supply Chain Management
Director of Graduate Programs ISSCM
Ph.D. University of Georgia, Athen, Georgia
(336) 334-4984, Lsiyer@uncg.edu

  • Women in Technology/Computing

Wayne Journell

Assistant Professor, Teacher Education & Higher Education
PhD University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
(336) 334-3437, wayne_journell@uncg.edu

  • Secondary Social Studies Instruction
  • Civic/Political Education
  • Technology Integration into Social Studies Instruction
  • Online Instruction/E-Learning

Chris Kepley

Associate Professor, Joint School of Nanoscience and Nanoengineering
PhD Medical College of Virginia - Virginia Commonwealth University
(336) 285-2865, clkepley@uncg.edu

  • Nanotechnology
  • Mechanisms of Allergy
  • Immunology Topics
  • Pharmaceutical Applications of Nanomaterials

Mary Krautter

Head of Reference, University Libraries
MLS The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
(336) 256-0274, mmkrautt@uncg.edu

  • Reference Services in Academic Libraries
  • Information Literacy

Nir Kshetri

Associate Professor, Management
PhD The University of Rhode Island
(336) 334-4530, nbkshetr@uncg.edu

  • Cybercrime
  • E-commerce
  • Global entrepreneurship
  • Asia Pacific economies

Carl Lashley

Associate Professor, Educational Leadership & Cultural Foundations
EdD Indiana University
(336) 334-3745, carl_lashley@uncg.edu

  • School Law
  • Individuals With Disabilities Education Act
  • Technology and Education

Seunghyun Lee

Assistant Professor, Media Studies
Study Abroad Committee, International Programs Center
PhD University of Wisconsin-Madison
(336) 256-8500, s_lee22@uncg.edu

  • Digital media use in the world and across different cultures
  • Digital literacy and education
  • Digital divide, digital inclusion and social inclusion
  • Service-learning with community and civic engagement for refugees and the underserved
  • Online journalism and citizen journalism

Barbara Levin

Professor, Teacher Education & Higher Education
PhD University of California, Berkeley
(336) 334-3437, bblevin@uncg.edu

  • Teacher Education in Professional Development Schools
  • Teacher Thinking & Development
  • Electronic Portfolios for Teacher Licensure
  • Problem-Based Learning for Teachers
  • Integrating Technology into K-12 Curriculums
  • On-line Learning Tools
  • Teacher Action Research

Andreas Lixl

Professor, Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
Research Fellow, Center for New North Carolinians
PhD University of Wisconsin-Madison
(336) 256-1155, a_lixl@uncg.edu

  • Carolinian Immigrants: Literary and Historical Perspectives
  • Germany after The Wall: Immigration and Integration
  • Foreign Language Teaching Technologies: Online German
  • Women of Exile: German-Jewish Autobiographies

Maurie Lockley

Lecturer, Information Systems & Supply Chain Management
MA The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
(336) 334-4983, maurie@uncg.edu

  • Microsoft Office, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Access

Rebecca Morris

Assistant Professor, Library & Information Studies
Ph.D. University of Pittsburgh
(336) 334-3477, rjmorris@uncg.edu

  • School Libraries, School Library Advocacy
  • Common Core State Standards and Libraries

Hamid R. Nemati

Associate Professor, Information Systems & Supply Chain Management
PhD The University of Georgia
(336) 334-4993, nemati@uncg.edu

  • Information Security and Privacy
  • Data Mining
  • Information Technology for Electronic Medical Records
  • Social Networking Technologies
  • Business Analytics
  • Big Data

Arndt Niebisch

Assistant Professor, Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
PhD Johns Hopkins University
(336) 334-3853, a_niebis@uncg.edu

  • Science, Technology and Culture
  • Media Theory
  • European Avant-Garde

Fatih Oguz

Assistant Professor, Library & Information Studies
PhD University of North Texas
(336) 334-4782, f_oguz@uncg.edu

  • Digital Libraries
  • Institutional Repositories

Prashant Palvia

Joe Rosenthal Excellence Professor, Information Systems & Supply Chain Management
PhD University of Minnesota
(336) 334-4818, pcpalvia@uncg.edu

  • Global Information Technology Issues
  • International IT Outsourcing
  • Electronic Commerce
  • Information Systems Research Methods
  • Information Technology in Healthcare

Kimberlianne Podlas

Assistant Professor, Media Studies
JD State University of New York at Buffalo, School of Law
(336) 334-5360, k_podlas@uncg.edu

  • Topics in U.S. Law: Copyright, FCC, Courts
  • The Law in Pop Culture and on TV: the CSI Effect, Judge Judy, Reality TV
  • Humor and Satire
  • The Media: TV, Film, Digital/Internet

Patricia H. Reggio

Professor & Department Chair, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Center for Drug Discovery
PhD The University of New Orleans
(336) 334-5333, phreggio@uncg.edu

  • Marihuana
  • cannabinoids
  • G protein coupled receptors
  • high performance computing

Marcia L. Rock

Associate Professor, Specialized Education Services
PhD University of Pittsburgh
(336) 256-8640, mlrock@uncg.edu

  • Technology in Teacher Preparation - General and Special Education
  • Positive Behavior Support - Schoolwide, Classwide, Individual Student Systems
  • Strategic Self Monitoring for Students With ADHD
  • Effective Instruction for Students with Emotional and/or Behavior Disorders

A. F. Salam

Associate Professor, Information Systems & Supply Chain Management
PhD State University of New York at Buffalo
(336) 256-8589, amsalam@uncg.edu

  • Information Technology
  • Social Networks and Social Computing
  • Wireless and Mobile Computing
  • Service Oriented Architecture and Emerging Technologies

Tina Sarawgi

Associate Professor & Director of Graduate Study, Interior Architecture
M.Arch. Miami University
(336) 303-8462, tina_sarawgi@uncg.edu

  • Lighting Design
  • Digital Design
  • Lighting Simulation

Debbie Schallock

Director of Marketing, University Relations
MA The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
(336) 334-4042, drschall@uncg.edu

  • Marketing
  • Branding
  • Organizational Communication
  • Strategic Communication
  • Social Media

Roy Schwartzman

Professor, Communication Studies
PhD The University of Iowa
(336) 509-2701, doc_roy@uncg.edu

  • The Holocaust and anti-Semitism
  • Political communication
  • Communication and technology
  • Metaphor and figurative language
  • Propaganda and Persuasion
  • Argumentation and debate

Rahul Singh

Associate Professor, Information Systems & Supply Chain Management
PhD Virginia commonwealth university
(336) 256-0260, Rahul@uncg.edu

  • Accessibility and usability of systems
  • Information and Systems Security
  • Web 2.0 & social networks
  • knowledge management and systems design
  • Social Media Strategy

Shanmugathasan "Shan" Suthaharan

Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies, Computer Science
PhD Monash University, Australia
(336) 256-1122, ssuthaharan@uncg.edu

  • Computer Networking
  • Computer Security & Encryption

Stephen Tate

Professor & Department Chair, Computer Science
PhD Duke University
(336) 256-1112, srtate@uncg.edu

  • Computer Security
  • Computer Science
  • Cryptography

Elizabeth Van Horn

Associate Professor, Adult Health Nursing
PhD The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
(336) 334-4942, e_vanhorn@uncg.edu

  • Recovery from Traumatic Injury
  • Family Integrity Promotion
  • Evidence-based Practice
  • Teaching with Technology