Speakers Bureau

Speakers for: Music, Theatre, & Dance

Search the left-hand column within the specific topics to find a speaker. When you find a speaker, click the "Request a Speaker" button to request a speaker for your event.

Mary Ashley Barret

Associate Professor, Music Performance
DMA Florida State University
(336) 334-5879, mabarret@uncg.edu

  • "Preparing for a Music Career"
  • "How to be a music major"

Rachel Briley

Associate Professor, Theatre
MFA Arizona State University
(336) 334-4015, r_briley@uncg.edu

  • Drama and Literacy
  • Drama and the Young Child
  • Theatre for Young Audiences
  • Music, Sign Language, and Drama in the development of the child

James Revell Carr

Assistant Professor, Music Studies
PhD University of California, Santa Barbara
(336) 334-5030, jrcarr2@uncg.edu

  • American Traditional Music Beyond Appalachia
  • Popular Music in Global Contexts
  • Music of the American Counterculture
  • Music of Hawaii & the Pacific
  • Music of Coastal & Seafaring Communities in America

Gregory D. Carroll

Associate Professor, Music Studies
PhD The University of Iowa
(336) 334-5461, gdcarrol@uncg.edu

  • Classical Music

Duane Cyrus

Associate Professor, Dance
MFA University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
(336) 256-1486, dacyrus@uncg.edu

  • Accessing Creativity (Interactive lecture or workshop to access creative potential for any demographic)
  • Entrepreneurship in the Arts
  • African American Contributions to American Culture (Particularly in Performing Arts)

Sarah Dorsey

Director of the Music Library, University Libraries
MLS University of Arizona
(336) 334-5610, sbdorsey@uncg.edu

  • Music Librarianship & Libraries in General
  • Sustainability Film Series - Coordinator and Co-chair of the UNCG Sustainability Committee
  • Archives research - Writing a Biography of Composer Louise Talma (1906-1996)

Gavin Douglas

Associate Professor, Music Studies
PhD University of Washington
(336) 334-5473, gdouglas@uncg.edu

  • Music and Politics
  • Music in Southeast Asia

Benjamin Filene

Associate Professor, History
PhD Yale University
(336) 334-5645, bpfilene@uncg.edu

  • Small Stories in the Big Picture: How Can Museums Bring Ordinary People’s History To Life?
  • Lead Belly, the Lomaxes, and the Construction of America’s Musical Heritage
  • Making Race Personal in Public History

James Fisher

Professor & Department Head, Theatre
MFA The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
(336) 334-4112, ajfisher@uncg.edu

  • Topics Relating to Theater & Drama
  • American Film
  • The UNCG Theatre Program
  • Theatre Censorship

Denise Gabriel

Assistant Professor, Theatre
MA The Ohio State University, University of Nebraska
(336) 334-5789, dlgabri2@uncg.edu

  • The Values of Mindfulness Practice in Daily Living
  • Embodying Performance in the Workplace

Kevin M. Geraldi

Associate Professor, Conducting
DMA University of Michigan
(336) 334-5435, kmgerald@uncg.edu

  • Classical music
  • Band, Orchestral, and Chamber Music
  • Music Education

Patricia Gray

Director, BioMusic Program
DMA University of Cincinnati
(336) 256-1479, p_gray@uncg.edu

  • BioMusic: The Music of Nature and the Nature of Music
  • Science & Music: Interdisciplinary Approaches to Elementary Education
  • How Music Supports Learning

Jill Green

Professor, Dance
PhD The Ohio State University
(336) 334-3266, jillgreen@uncg.edu

  • Somatic Theory & Practice
  • Health & Dance
  • Body-Mind Approaches
  • Kinetic Awareness

Steve Haines

Associate Professor, Music Performance
Director, Miles Davis Program in Jazz Studies
MM University of North Texas
(336) 256-0105, sjhaines@uncg.edu

  • Jazz Music

Travis L. Hicks

Assistant Professor, Interior Architecture
M.Arch. Princeton University
(336) 256-0306, tlhicks@uncg.edu

  • Trends in Workplace Design: "Thinking Beyond the Office Cube"
  • Sustainable Design: "Towards a More Ecological Architecture"
  • Design Process: "Deciphering Archi-speak: Why Architects Think and Talk the Way They Do."
  • Irish Traditional Music - Discussion + Demonstration: "The Irish Bagpipes: Yes, These ARE Real Bagpipes."

Jody Kaizen

Lecturer, Theatre
MA Saint Mary's Unviersity of Minnesota
(336) 334-4601, jtcauthe@Uncg.edu

  • Theatre Management/Theatre Entrepreneurship
  • Arts Marketing
  • Theatre/Drama

Andre Lash

Lecturer, Music Performance
DMA Eastman School of Music of the University of Rochester
(706) 224-7789, adlash@uncg.edu

  • History of the Organ and It's Usage

Larry Lavender

Professor, Dance
Faculty Fellow, Lloyd International Honors College
PhD New York University
(336) 855-1962, lavender@uncg.edu

  • Modern and Contemporary Dance Practices
  • Avant Garde Arts
  • Criticism in the Arts

Janet Lilly

Professor & Department Chair, Dance
MFA The University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
(336) 334-3262, j_lilly@uncg.edu

  • Elements of Dance Choreography for Everyone
  • Site-Specific Choreography and Improvisation
  • Iyengar Yoga as a Body/Mind Practice

Neeraj Mehta

Visiting Assistant Professor, Music Performance
D.M.A. University of Michigan
(336) 334-5186, namehta@uncg.edu

  • The Roots of Salsa and Latin Jazz
  • Drums of Power: Batá Drumming of Cuba
  • Conga de Comparsa: The Carnival Music of Cuba

David Nelson

Professor, Music Studies
PhD Northwestern University
(336) 256-1229, david_nelson@uncg.edu

  • Musical Sites of Vienna & Salzburg
  • Music of Vienna
  • Musical Travel in Europe

William M. Nelson

Professional Librarian & Cello Music Cataloger, University Libraries
MA University of York, England
(336) 334-5781, wmnelson@uncg.edu

  • The Cello Music Collection at UNCG
  • Cello Celebrations at UNCG
  • The Great Cellists at UNCG: Bernard Greenhouse and Laszlo Varga
  • Great Classical Guitar Collections

Susan Phillips

Assistant Professor, Communication Sciences & Disorders
PhD University of Maryland
(336) 256-2000, slphilli@uncg.edu

  • Prevention of Hearing Loss in Musicians
  • Genetics of Hearing Loss
  • Mentoring

Kimberlianne Podlas

Assistant Professor, Media Studies
JD State University of New York at Buffalo, School of Law
(336) 334-5360, k_podlas@uncg.edu

  • Topics in U.S. Law: Copyright, FCC, Courts
  • The Law in Pop Culture and on TV: the CSI Effect, Judge Judy, Reality TV
  • Humor and Satire
  • The Media: TV, Film, Digital/Internet

Alejandro Rutty

Associate Professor, Music Performance
PhD State University of New York at Buffalo
(336) 334-5421, ahrutty@uncg.edu

  • Composing Music: Programs That Encourage Music Composition by Non-musicians

Paul Stewart

Professor, Music Performance
DMA Florida State University
(336) 334-5380, pbstewar@uncg.edu

  • Ragtime Piano Music 1900-1920 - Performance/Discussion (In-tune Piano Required)

Joan M. Titus

Assistant Professor, Composition, Ethnomusicology, Musicology and Theory
PhD The Ohio State University
(336) 334-3301, j_titus@uncg.edu

  • Music
  • Russian Studies
  • North African Studies
  • Film Studies

Nancy Walker

Associate Professor, Music Performance
DMA Indiana University
(336) 334-5784, nlwalker@uncg.edu

  • Singing, teaching voice/music

Robert Wells

Associate Professor, Music Performance
Coordinator, Vocal Pedagogy Music Performance
DMA University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music
(336) 256-1326, robert_wells@uncg.edu

  • Voice - Classical Voice Training/Bel Canto Tradition
  • Vocal Health and Pedagogy
  • Solo Voice in the Choral Environment
  • Vocal Health and Technique for the Choral Singer

Christopher W White

Lecturer, Music Studies
Ph.D. Yale University
(336) 334-5468, chriswmwhite@gmail.com

  • Overlaps between music and language
  • Music cognition
  • Artificial Musical Intelligence

James Wren

Associate Professor, Theatre
MFA University of Florida
(336) 334-5562, jimwren@uncg.edu

  • Contemporary Theatre
  • Arts and the Community
  • Careers in the Performance Arts & the Entertainment Business
  • Theatre and the mirror to society