Speakers Bureau

Speakers for: Research

Search the left-hand column within the specific topics to find a speaker. When you find a speaker, click the "Request a Speaker" button to request a speaker for your event.

Kathleen Casey

Associate Professor, Educational Leadership & Cultural Foundations
PhD University of Wisconsin-Madison
(336) 256-0156, caseyk@uncg.edu

  • Curriculum theory
  • Poverty & Education
  • Political Analysis of Education
  • Narrative Research

Holly A. Downs

Assistant Professor, Educational Research Methodology
Ph.D. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
(336) 334-5882, hadowns@uncg.edu

  • Evaluation
  • Technology/Digital Tools
  • Qualitative and Mixed Methodologies
  • Research/Evaluation Design

Bert Goldman

Professor Emeritus, Teacher Education & Higher Education
EdD University of Virginia
(336) 334-3464, goldman@uncg.edu

  • College Student Retention
  • Academic Flexibility
  • Researchers' Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures
  • Standardized Tests: What they measure and their weaknesses
  • Significant findings in research: How do researchers determine this

Patricia Gray

Director, BioMusic Program
DMA University of Cincinnati
(336) 256-1479, p_gray@uncg.edu

  • BioMusic: The Music of Nature and the Nature of Music
  • Science & Music: Interdisciplinary Approaches to Elementary Education
  • How Music Supports Learning

Lauren Haldeman

Associate Professor, Nutrition
PhD University of Connecticut
(336) 256-0311, lahaldem@uncg.edu

  • Food Insecurity Among Low income Audiences
  • Community Based Nutrition Education and Health Outcomes
  • Community Engaged Research in Nutrition

Daniel J. C. Herr

Professor & Department Chair, Nanoscience
Director, The JSNN-Gateway Nanomanufacturing Innovation Consortium
PhD University of California, Santa Cruz
(336) 285-2862, djherr@uncg.edu

  • Nanoscience, Nanotechnology, and Nanomaterials
  • Sustainable Manufacturing and Nanomanufacturing
  • Advanced Semiconductor Technologies
  • The Joint School of Nanoscience and Nanoengineering

Lynda Kellam

Reference and Government Information, University Libraries
MA University of Wisconsin-Madison
(336) 334-5251, lmkellam@uncg.edu

  • Accessing U.S. Government Information
  • US Census 2010 and the American Community Survey
  • Researching the U.S. Congress
  • Finding Demographic and Socioeconomic Data for your Work

Chris Kepley

Associate Professor, Joint School of Nanoscience and Nanoengineering
PhD Medical College of Virginia - Virginia Commonwealth University
(336) 285-2865, clkepley@uncg.edu

  • Nanotechnology
  • Mechanisms of Allergy
  • Immunology Topics
  • Pharmaceutical Applications of Nanomaterials

Thomas Kwapil

Professor, Psychology
Associate Dean for Research, College of Arts & Sciences
PhD University of Wisconsin-Madison
(336) 256-0003, t_kwapil@uncg.edu

  • Research in the College Arts & Sciences

Todd Lewis

Associate Professor, Counseling & Educational Development
PhD Kent State University
(336) 334-3422, tflewis@uncg.edu

  • Substance Use Issues Among College Students
  • Theoretical Models of Behavior
  • Adlerian Theory
  • Research Design & Methodology
  • Motivational Interviewing
  • Diagnosis using the DSM-V and Treatment Planning

Stuart Marcovitch

Associate Professor, Psychology
PhD University of Toronto
(336) 256-0020, s_marcov@uncg.edu

  • What preschoolers are supposed to know: Science based evidence on young children's social and cognitive abilities
  • Working Memory in Childhood

Jerry McGuire

Associate Vice Chancellor for Economic Development, Office of Research & Economic Development
MBA University of Pittsburgh
(336) 256-1298, mcguirej@uncg.edu

  • Economic Development Initiatives at UNCG

Nicholas Oberlies

Associate Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
PhD Purdue University
(336) 334-5474, nicholas_oberlies@uncg.edu

  • Herbal Medicines
  • Natural Products Drug Discovery

Jan Rychtar

Associate Professor, Mathematics & Statistics
Interim Director, Office of Undergraduate Research
PhD University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada
(336) 334-5836, rychtar@uncg.edu

  • Mathematics and its Applications in Real World
  • Mathematical Biology
  • Game Theory
  • Conflict Resolution
  • Research with Undergraduate Students

Sandra Shultz

Professor, Kinesiology
PhD University of Virginia
(336) 334-3027, sjshultz@uncg.edu

  • Risk of Knee Injuries in Female Athletes
  • Strategies for Preventing Knee Injuries in Young Females
  • Injuries in Young Females

Amy Vetter

Assistant Professor, Teacher Education & Higher Education
PhD University of Texas at Austin
(336) 334-3437, amvetter@uncg.edu

  • Teacher Research
  • English Education