Speakers Bureau

Speakers for: Technology & the Internet

Search the left-hand column within the specific topics to find a speaker. When you find a speaker, click the "Request a Speaker" button to request a speaker for your event.

Ian D. Beatty

Assistant Professor, Physics & Astronomy
PhD University of Massachusetts Amherst
(336) 256-8600, idbeatty@uncg.edu

  • The role of a bricks-and-mortar university in the age of Wikipedia and online education

Beth R. Bernhardt

Electronic Resources Librarian, University Libraries
MLIS University of South Carolina
(336) 256-1210, beth_bernhardt@uncg.edu

  • Resources Available at the UNCG University Libraries
  • Business Resources at the UNCG University Libraries
  • NC LIVE Electronic Databases You Can Connect to From Home

Nora J. Bird

Assistant Professor, Library & Information Studies
PhD Rutgers University
(336) 256-0162, njbird@uncg.edu

  • Workplace Information Literacy
  • Communicating Science on the Web
  • Informal Learning and Adults
  • Community College Libraries
  • Digital archiving

Rick Bunch

Professor, Geography
Director, Center for Geographic Information Science
PhD University of South Carolina
(336) 608-8253, rlbunch@uncg.edu

  • Geographic Information Systems

Jean Camp

Professor Emeritus, Teacher Education & Higher Education
MEd The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
(336) 334-3402, jean_camp@uncg.edu

  • Instructional Technology

Anthony S. Chow

Assistant Professor, Library & Information Studies
PhD Florida State University
(336) 334-3411, aschow@uncg.edu

  • Library Management and Technology
  • Web Design & Usability
  • E-Learning
  • Instructional Technology
  • Asian American & Race Issues

Sam "Chip" Cook

Lecturer, Communication Studies
Lecturer, Business Administration
MA The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
(336) 254-8676, sccook2@uncg.edu

  • Communication & Public Speaking
  • Communication Technology
  • NC Public Charter School Development

Ann W. Davis

Clinical Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership & Cultural Foundations
EdD The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
(336) 334-3469, awdavis@triad.rr.com

  • Syncing Up With the iKid -- Reaching Today's Digital Generation Through 1:1 Computing
  • School Executive Leadership for Higher Student Engagement and Performance
  • Leading in a Culture of Change - Turning Around Low-Performing High Schools
  • Mentoring Beginning Principals

Holly A. Downs

Assistant Professor, Educational Research Methodology
Ph.D. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
(336) 334-5882, hadowns@uncg.edu

  • Evaluation
  • Technology/Digital Tools
  • Qualitative and Mixed Methodologies
  • Research/Evaluation Design

Patricia Fairfield-Artman

Lecturer, Communication Studies
PhD The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
(336) 334-5297, pfartman@uncg.edu

  • Developing Positive Community Relations Through Public Relations
  • Prepare and Deliver Effective Messages for Traditional and Online Media to Meet today's 24/7 Online World Where Instant Reaction Rules the Day

Eric Ford

Professor, Management
PhD The University of Alabama at Birmingham
(336) 334-4524, ewford@uncg.edu

  • Health System Change: Promoting Value
  • Electronic Health Records: Adoption & Diffusion
  • Effectiveness & Efficiency in Healthcare Organizations

Keith Phelan Gorman

Head, Special Collections and University Archives, University Libraries
PhD University of Wisconsin-Madison
(336) 334-3136, k_gorman@uncg.edu

  • Holdings in UNCG Special Collections and University Archives
  • Digital Projects in the UNCG Library
  • Photo History of UNCG
  • The History of UNCG and Greensboro

Daniel J. C. Herr

Professor & Department Chair, Nanoscience
Director, The JSNN-Gateway Nanomanufacturing Innovation Consortium
PhD University of California, Santa Cruz
(336) 285-2862, djherr@uncg.edu

  • Nanoscience, Nanotechnology, and Nanomaterials
  • Sustainable Manufacturing and Nanomanufacturing
  • Advanced Semiconductor Technologies
  • The Joint School of Nanoscience and Nanoengineering

Christopher Hodgkins

Professor, English
PhD The University of Chicago
(336) 334-4691, cthodgki@uncg.edu

  • Dangerous Poetry
  • Opening Genesis - A Literary Approach
  • The Best Poems You've Never read
  • Why Shakespeare Was Shakespeare
  • Print or Digital: Which Will Last?
  • The Bible and Sex

Lakshmi Iyer

Assistant Professor, Information Systems and Supply Chain Management
Director of Graduate Programs ISSCM
Ph.D. University of Georgia, Athen, Georgia
(336) 334-4984, Lsiyer@uncg.edu

  • How to engage young women in computing education/career paths (IT is for Girls Program)
  • How to be safe online or using mobile devices - Privacy and security issues with online or mobile technology use

Wayne Journell

Assistant Professor, Teacher Education & Higher Education
PhD University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
(336) 334-3437, wayne_journell@uncg.edu

  • Secondary Social Studies Instruction
  • Civic/Political Education
  • Technology Integration into Social Studies Instruction
  • Online Instruction/E-Learning

Chris Kepley

Associate Professor, Joint School of Nanoscience and Nanoengineering
PhD Medical College of Virginia - Virginia Commonwealth University
(336) 285-2865, clkepley@uncg.edu

  • Nanotechnology
  • Mechanisms of Allergy
  • Immunology Topics
  • Pharmaceutical Applications of Nanomaterials

Mary Krautter

Head of Reference, University Libraries
MLS The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
(336) 256-0274, mmkrautt@uncg.edu

  • Future of Libraries
  • Research in the Age of Google

Nir Kshetri

Associate Professor, Management
PhD The University of Rhode Island
(336) 334-4530, nbkshetr@uncg.edu

  • Cybercrime
  • E-commerce
  • Marketing
  • Global entrepreneurship
  • China

Carl Lashley

Associate Professor, Educational Leadership & Cultural Foundations
EdD Indiana University
(336) 334-3745, carl_lashley@uncg.edu

  • School Law
  • Individuals With Disabilities Education Act
  • Technology and Education

Seunghyun Lee

Assistant Professor, Media Studies
Study Abroad Committee, International Programs Center
PhD University of Wisconsin-Madison
(336) 256-8500, s_lee22@uncg.edu

  • Digital media use in the world and across different cultures
  • Mobile multimedia use and culture across the world
  • Digital divide, digital inclusion and social inclusion
  • Service-learning with community and civic engagement for refugees and the underserved
  • Online journalism and citizen journalism

Barbara Levin

Professor, Teacher Education & Higher Education
PhD University of California, Berkeley
(336) 334-3437, bblevin@uncg.edu

  • Teacher Education in Professional Development Schools
  • Teacher Thinking & Development
  • Electronic Portfolios for Teacher Licensure
  • Problem-Based Learning for Teachers
  • Integrating Technology into K-12 Curriculums
  • On-line Learning Tools
  • Meeting the needs of 21st century teachers and learners
  • 21st century technology integration

Andreas Lixl

Professor, Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
Research Fellow, Center for New North Carolinians
PhD University of Wisconsin-Madison
(336) 256-1155, a_lixl@uncg.edu

  • Carolinian Immigrants: Literary and Historical Perspectives
  • Germany after The Wall: Immigration and Integration
  • Foreign Language Teaching Technologies: Online German

Maurie Lockley

Lecturer, Information Systems & Supply Chain Management
MA The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
(336) 334-4983, maurie@uncg.edu

  • What's new in Microsoft Office 2013
  • Using Excel Effectively
  • Collaboration features in Microsoft Office 2013
  • Data Management with Access
  • Pivoting Data
  • Working with Text Functions

Jennifer Mangrum

Clinical Assistant Professor, Teacher Education & Higher Education
PhD The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
(336) 256-1420, jrmangru@uncg.edu

  • Elementary Education: What should parents know about teaching and learning?
  • Paideia: Teaching ALL students as intellectuals and future citizens
  • Technology in Education: How do we engage 21st Century Learners?
  • Classroom Instruction: "It was good enough for us!"

Rebecca Morris

Assistant Professor, Library & Information Studies
Ph.D. University of Pittsburgh
(336) 334-3477, rjmorris@uncg.edu

  • Today's School Library for Families and Communities
  • Information Literacy and K-12 Students: Why It's Not Enough to Let Your Kids "Google" their Homework
  • Digital Storytelling and Libraries: Sharing Stories across Digital Domains

Hamid R. Nemati

Associate Professor, Information Systems & Supply Chain Management
PhD The University of Georgia
(336) 334-4993, nemati@uncg.edu

  • Information Security and Privacy
  • Data Mining
  • Information Technology for Electronic Medical Records
  • Social Networking Technologies
  • Business Analytics
  • Big Data

Arndt Niebisch

Assistant Professor, Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
PhD Johns Hopkins University
(336) 334-3853, a_niebis@uncg.edu

  • Media and Society
  • Science, Technology and Culture
  • Culture of Modernity
  • Information Society

Fatih Oguz

Assistant Professor, Library & Information Studies
PhD University of North Texas
(336) 334-4782, f_oguz@uncg.edu

  • Digital Libraries
  • Institutional Repositories
  • Communities of Practice
  • Social Media

Prashant Palvia

Joe Rosenthal Excellence Professor, Information Systems & Supply Chain Management
PhD University of Minnesota
(336) 334-4818, pcpalvia@uncg.edu

  • Global Information Technology Issues
  • International IT Outsourcing
  • Electronic Commerce
  • Information Systems Research Methods
  • Information Technology in Healthcare

Jeffrey C. Patton

Professor & Department Chair, Geography
PhD The University of Kansas
(336) 334-3918, jcpatton@uncg.edu

  • History of Maps
  • Early American Maps
  • Satellite Imaging of Earth

Kimberlianne Podlas

Assistant Professor, Media Studies
JD State University of New York at Buffalo, School of Law
(336) 334-5360, k_podlas@uncg.edu

  • Topics in U.S. Law: Copyright, FCC, Courts
  • The Law in Pop Culture and on TV: the CSI Effect, Judge Judy, Reality TV
  • Humor and Satire
  • The Media: TV, Film, Digital/Internet

Marcia L. Rock

Associate Professor, Specialized Education Services
PhD University of Pittsburgh
(336) 256-8640, mlrock@uncg.edu

  • Special Education - Best Practices for Effective Instruction & Positive Behavior Support
  • Technology in Teacher Preparation & Professional Development
  • Online Coaching
  • The Real vs. the Ideal - ADHD in the Classroom & in the Home

A. F. Salam

Associate Professor, Information Systems & Supply Chain Management
PhD State University of New York at Buffalo
(336) 256-8589, amsalam@uncg.edu

  • Information Technology
  • Social Networks and Social Computing
  • Wireless and Mobile Computing
  • Service Oriented Architecture and Emerging Technologies

Tina Sarawgi

Associate Professor & Director of Graduate Study, Interior Architecture
M.Arch. Miami University
(336) 303-8462, tina_sarawgi@uncg.edu

  • Lighting Design
  • Digital Design
  • Lighting Simulation

Debbie Schallock

Director of Marketing, University Relations
MA The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
(336) 334-4042, drschall@uncg.edu

  • Marketing
  • Branding
  • Organizational Communication
  • Strategic Communication
  • Social Media

Rahul Singh

Associate Professor, Information Systems & Supply Chain Management
PhD Virginia commonwealth university
(336) 256-0260, Rahul@uncg.edu

  • Accessibility and usability of systems
  • Information and Systems Security
  • Web 2.0 & social networks
  • knowledge management and systems design
  • Social Media Strategy

Stephen Tate

Professor & Department Chair, Computer Science
PhD Duke University
(336) 256-1112, srtate@uncg.edu

  • Privacy - "Technologies for Privacy in the Age of Electronic Communication"
  • Computer Security - "Internet Dangers: Phishing, Botnets, and Spyware"

Elizabeth Van Horn

Associate Professor, Adult Health Nursing
PhD The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
(336) 334-4942, e_vanhorn@uncg.edu

  • Recovery from Traumatic Injury
  • Family Integrity Promotion
  • Evidence-based Practice
  • Teaching with Technology